<a id="ccloud-market-suspension"></a>

# Marketplace Organization Suspension and Deactivation in Confluent Cloud

When a Confluent Cloud organization subscription or plan is canceled through its cloud
provider marketplace, the organization loses access to its resources through a
marketplace organization suspension. The organization moves through four states
(canceled, control plane loss, suspended, and deactivated) before all data is
deleted.

These states apply to your account if you pay for your Confluent organization
usage through your cloud provider billing account.

<a id="ccloud-market-suspension-states"></a>

## Cancellation states

Confluent Cloud marketplace organizations move through four cancellation states. Each
state restricts access to the control plane, the data plane, or both. The
cancellation timeline depends on the plan type.

| State              | Description                                                                                                                                                                                          |
|--------------------|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
| Canceled           | The Confluent organization does not have an active plan on file because<br/>its subscription or entitlement is inactive.                                                                             |
| Control plane loss | You can’t manage your resources on Confluent Cloud. You can’t add new users,<br/>provision new clusters, or modify existing clusters.                                                                |
| Suspended          | In addition to control plane loss, you lose access to the data plane:<br/><br/>- All API keys are deactivated.<br/>- Data and content become inaccessible.<br/>- Producing and consuming data stops. |
| Deactivated        | All content, data, and resources are deleted. Deactivation is not reversible.                                                                                                                        |

An organization moves through the states in sequential order:

1. **Canceled**: Your subscription or plan ends.
2. **Control plane loss**: You can’t manage your resources shortly after
   cancellation.
3. **Suspended**: Within a few days or weeks, you lose data plane access and
   your API keys are deactivated.
4. **Deactivated**: At the end of the suspension period, all your data and
   resources are deleted permanently.

The timeline for each state change depends on the plan type, either
pay-as-you-go or commitment.

## Marketplace organization cancellation

A Confluent Cloud organization plan or subscription can be canceled by the customer or
cloud provider at any time. For example, a cloud provider can cancel a
subscription for lack of payment. After a subscription is canceled, the
Confluent organization moves through each state described in
[Cancellation states](#ccloud-market-suspension-states), unless the account owner reinstates the
account.

For customers with a commitment, which is a term-based payment contract,
cancellation occurs when the commitment expires. To prevent cancellation,
ensure a new commitment is linked to the
Confluent organization. For more information, see
[Annual commitments](overview.md#cloud-billing-annual-commitment).

For details on canceling a plan or subscription, see your cloud provider’s
marketplace documentation.

<a id="ccloud-market-suspension-reinstate"></a>

## Reinstate a canceled or suspended marketplace account

If your account is in a canceled or suspended state, you can reinstate it. The
reinstatement procedure depends on the marketplace where the account was
created.

#### WARNING
If your account is deactivated, you cannot recover it.

### Reinstate an account created through the Google Cloud or AWS Marketplace

1. In the Google Cloud or AWS Marketplace, start a new pay-as-you-go subscription for
   **Apache Kafka® on Confluent Cloud™**. For the **Billing Account**, select
   the same account that was associated with the canceled or suspended account.
2. When prompted, sign in to Confluent Cloud with the same credentials as the previous
   account. If a new entitlement is created, it automatically links to the new
   subscription.

### Reinstate an account created through the Azure Marketplace

Submit a request to [Confluent Support](https://support.confluent.io/) to
reinstate your account before it is deactivated and deleted.
