Clusters

The Clusters page provides a table summarizing all Apache Kafka® clusters for which interceptors are collecting monitoring data:

../_images/c3clustermanagement.png
Cluster name
A human-friendly name for the cluster (by default, the cluster GUID). This name is specified using the Cluster Edit page in Control Center and is not exposed outside of Control Center.
ZooKeeper servers
A list of ZooKeeper servers configured for the cluster. This information is only available if the cluster is the same as the one being used internally by Control Center. This column will be blank for other clusters.
Bootstrap servers
A list of bootstrap servers configured for the cluster. This information is only available if the cluster is the same as the one being used internally by Control Center. This column will be blank for other clusters.
GUID
A unique ID associated with the Kafka cluster (provided by the cluster). This information is available for all clusters running Kafka version 0.10.1.0 or higher.

Editing Cluster Properties

You can view and edit your cluster properties.

To view or edit the cluster properties, click the ellipsis (...) to the right your cluster name and click Edit. You can change the cluster name and view ZooKeeper and bootstrap server details.

../_images/c3clusterstartedit.png

For example, to change the name of your cluster, edit the Cluster Name field and click Save cluster to apply your changes.

../_images/c3clusteredit.png

Viewing Broker Configuration

You can view the cluster broker configuration.

Note

If broker configuration editing is disabled, the view is read-only and the Edit Settings feature is not available.

To view a broker configuration, click the ellipses (...) by the cluster name and click Brokers.

../_images/c3clusterstartedit.png

A read-only view of the broker configuration is displayed in the Broker Configs tab.

../_images/c3clusterbrokerdetail.png

Tip

To download the broker configuration, click Download settings.

Editing Dynamic Broker Configuration Settings

The dynamic broker configuration option is enabled by default. The feature allows editing broker configurations within Control Center that do not require a restart. Any configuration option that has a per-broker or cluster-wide Dynamic Update Mode can be edited. Any options designated as read-only for the dynamic update mode requires a restart and cannot be edited dynamically.

For information about available broker configuration options, including the dynamic update mode per option, see Broker Configurations.

Legend:

  • Green-filled bullet: indicates non-default configuration options.

  • Empty-fill bullet: indicates default configuration options.

  • Red-filled bullet: indicates a possible issue with configuration options that have n different values* (asterisk) between brokers.

    Important

    Review any brokers flagged with different config values to ensure they are all set as intended.

    ../_images/c3-broker-config-diff-values.png

To edit the broker configuration:

  1. From the navigation menu, click Management -> Clusters.

  2. Click the Cluster name ellipses and click Brokers from the menu. The Broker Configs tab appears.

  3. In the Show settings for pane, select a broker. To compare and edit settings for multiple brokers, select two or more brokers.

    ../_images/c3-select-brokers.png
  4. Clear the Hide default broker settings check box to show all configuration options, including default options:

    ../_images/c3-edit-settings.png
  5. Click Edit Settings. The broker settings appear with edit icons:

    ../_images/c3-broker-configs-editable.png
    • Click the edit icon to make the changes you want to a configuration option.
    • Hover over any option to view its description.
    • Click Set to Default if applicable.
    ../_images/c3-broker-edit-icon-tip-default.png
  6. Click Save Settings. Click Discard Settings to discard edits to settings.

To see examples of changing broker configs dynamically using the Kafka command line kafka-configs tool, see Changing Broker Configs Dynamically.

Enabling and disabling dynamic editing of broker configurations

The Dynamic Broker Configuration feature that allows editing settings without a restart is enabled by default. The feature can be disabled in Control Center if an organization does not want any users to access the feature. After disabling the feature, the Edit Settings button in the Broker Config tab in the Control Center UI is no longer visible.

To disable the edit broker config settings feature in Control Center:

  1. Set the confluent.controlcenter.broker.config.edit.enable option in your control-center.properties file to false.

    ...
    confluent.controlcenter.broker.config.edit.enable=false
    ...
    

    Note

    Make the change in the appropriate Control Center properties file or files configured for your environments, including control-center-dev.properties or control-center-production.properties. The properties files are located in /path-to-confluent/etc/confluent-control-center/.

  2. Restart Control Center and pass in the properties file for the configuration to take effect:

    ./bin/control-center-stop
    ./bin/control-center-start ../etc/confluent-control-center/control-center.properties
    

To enable the feature again, set the option back to true and restart Control Center with the updated properties file.